Students receive applause and cash at banquet

The San Antonio Pro Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists honored 13 scholarship winners at a banquet on June 21 at Tomatillos Cafe y Cantina.

A total of $14,000 was award to the students, who are pursing degrees in journalism and communications. Attendees included SPJ members, professors, friends and family.

Most of the scholarship funds come from the annual Gridiron show. The next Gridiron will be held this year on Sept. 30 at the auditorium at Texas A&M University – San Antonio.

 The event was sponsored by this SPJ chapter.

Winners of the 2017 scholarships are (back row, from left) Renee Muniz (University of the Incarnate Word); Victoria O’Connor (University of the Incarnate Word); James Dusek (San Antonio College); Cynthia Herrera (Texas A&M – San Antonio); Mara Gabriela Rodriguez (Texas A&M -San Antonio); Kyle Cotton (University of Texas at Arlington); Guadalupe “Wally” Perez (San Antonio College); (bottom row, from left) Bethany Melendez (University of the Incarnate Word); Marco P. Cadena (University of the Incarnate Word); José Arredondo (Texas A&M – San Antonio); Adam Barraza (University of the Incarnate Word) and Amisarahi Sarabia (Texas A&M-San Antonio). Not pictured is Julie Weis (Trinity University), who is pursing summer studies in China.

Kelley Shannon speaking with TSU students

Journalism sophomore and award winner James Dusek, of San Antonio College, talks with his journalism professor, Teresa Telerico.

Group photo of most attending the Freedom of Information event

Scholarship winner and San Antonio college journalism student Kyle Cotton, center, is surrounded by his parents and family members at the awards banquet hosted by the San Antonio chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists.

Student and professional attendees talk after the meeting

José Arredondo, right, a communications senior at Texas A&M-San Antonio, talks with Kyle Cotton, left, who will be studying journalism at the University of Texas, at Arlington, at the scholarship awards banquet at Tomatillos restaurant.

Students wait in line to talk with Kelley Shannon

Mike Drudge, president of the Society of Professional Journalists San Antonio Pro Chapter, talks with scholarship winner Mara Gabriela Rodriguez, of Texas A&M-San Antonio, at the awards dinner honoring the 2017 scholarship winners.