You’re invited!

It’s kind of a big deal.

The San Antonio Pro Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists invites you to our annual Scholarship Awards Banquet.

We spend hundreds of hours writing, rehearsing, performing and raising money for area college students in journalism and communications.

The winners have been decided. The big event is near! We want to see you there! Join us in this celebration of journalism, the future and the excellent work of these students.

The 2017 Banquet honors deserving students

The following 13 students will receive $14,000 in scholarships:

  • Jose Arredondo, Texas A&M University-San Antonio
  • Adam Christopher Barraza, University of the Incarnate Word
  • Marco Polo Cadena, University of the Incarnate Word
  • Kyle Cotton, University of Texas at Arlington
  • James Dusek, San Antonio College
  • Cynthia Herrera, Texas A&M University-San Antonio
  • Bethany Melendez, University of the Incarnate Word
  • Renee Muniz, University of the Incarnate Word
  • Victoria O’Connor, University of the Incarnate Word
  • Guadalupe “Wally” Perez, San Antonio College
  • Mara Gabriela Rodriguez, Texas A&M University-San Antonio
  • Amisarahi Sarabia, Texas A&M University-San Antonio
  • Julia Weis, Trinity University

Sponsored by this SPJ chapter, the event is at 6:30 p.m. at Tomatillos Cafe Y Cantina at 3210 Broadway St. in San Antonio. Plate cost is $25 cash or check at the door.

See you there!